We don't know whether the most recent response to this request contains information or not – if you are Simon Wang please sign in and let everyone know.

Machanism for reviewing bus frequency

We're waiting for Simon Wang to read a recent response and update the status.

Dear Transport Department,

Referring to my earlier email requesting a review of the frequency of KMB bus route 272A dated 18 Feb and your reply dated 20 Mar, it is disappointing that no concrete action has been taken on this case. I'd like to look into the established mechanism under which Transport Department reviews and revises bus frequencies. Here are the questions for the department to answer under the Code on Access to Information.

1. What is the name of the officer following the case regarding 272A? What is the name of his/her supervisor? With all due respect, I don't think they are doing their jobs properly. I hope they can review the case and follow up properly. Further action will be taken against them (e.g. complaint to THB and the Ombudsman) if no progress is made by 15 April. I am not asking for the schedule to be changed immediately; instead, I expect the TD to carefully consider whether there is a genuine need to increase the bus frequency. If you are following proper protocols, please let me know and I'll bring this case to other stakeholders for further discussion.

2. What is the mechanism under which the TD reviews the service frequencies of franchised buses. I assume from time to time such reviews should be done in response to the demographic changes of a region. Please provide relevant reports/documents.

3. Focusing on the case of 272A, when was the service frequency determined? What roles did TD play in the process? What factors were taken into account when making the decisions regarding bus frequencies?

4. Please provide the updated information regarding the factors that are important for determining the service frequencies of 272A (Q3). I hope such information will speak itself in terms of whether the frequencies of 272A should be increased.

5. How many complaints/ requests for reviews of bus frequencies did TD receive in 2019 and 2020? Were there any cases in which TD actually managed to change the frequencies? If so, please provide me information of 5 of such cases.

Thanks in advance.

Yours faithfully,
Simon Wang

=======================
20/03/2021

Dear Dr. Wang,

Subject:Review of 272A bus frequency (Case Ref: 3-6625059351)

Regarding your case dated 18/02/2021, the reply of the Transport Department is as follows –

"Thank you for your comment.

Regarding the service of route no. 272A, we have referred your comment to KMB, KMB has noted your suggestions, and will closely monitor the service of the above route and strengthen the headway to meet the passengers’ need whenever necessary.

We will continue monitoring the public transport service in Pak Shek Kok and strengthen the services whenever necessary. Thank you for your comment on the above matters."

If you have any enquiries, please contact us.

Best regards,
Rita Law
Customer Service Officer
1823

Tel: 1823
Fax: 2760 1823
Email: [email address]

Service Disclaimer: www.1823.gov.hk/di.shtm
In view of the latest development of the COVID-19 epidemic, 1823 now accords priority to calls related to the epidemic and environmental hygiene issues, and the waiting or processing time for other calls and enquiries and complaints from written channels may be lengthened.

Simon H WANG <[email address]> 於 2021年2月18日週四 上午8:29寫道:
Dear Sir/Madam

I’m writing to request a review of the timetable for 272A. I wonder when this timetable was set up and what was the population size of the area served by 272A then. It seems that more people are now living in the communities along the bus route and the frequencies of the buses should be increased during the rush hours. In the morning the rush hour period should be extended (only 7:00 to 7:32 now) and in the evening a period of peak hours should be set up to dispatch more buses.
I’m copying this email to Mr Yiu Kwan Ho the district councillor of my region for him to follow up (if needed). Thanks in advance for your attention to this matter.

Yours sincerely
Simon Wang

Dorothy Shuk Kwan CHIM, Transport Department

Dear Mr Wang,

Our department has received your request for access to information dated
20.3.2021.  Your application is now under processing.  According to
paragraph 1.16 of the Code on Access to Information, our department will
inform you of the latest progress of the case separately on or before
9.4.2021.  You may note that case no. 96/21 is assigned to your request.

In the meantime, if you have any enquiry, please contact me at 3842 5574.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Miss Dorothy Chim
for Commissioner for Transport

show quoted sections

Dorothy Shuk Kwan CHIM, Transport Department

Dear Mr Wang,

Further to my email of 29.3.2021 below, please be informed that we are
still preparing the requested information.  According to paragraph 1.18 of
the Code on Access to Information, our department will inform you of the
latest progress of the case separately on or before 9.5.2021.  In the
meantime, please contact me at 3842 5574 if you have any enquiry.

Your understanding in this matter is much appreciated.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Miss Dorothy Chim
for Commissioner for Transport

show quoted sections

We don't know whether the most recent response to this request contains information or not – if you are Simon Wang please sign in and let everyone know.